First Offense DWI
A DWI is a very serious crime that could follow you for the rest of your life. In the United States, there are nearly 12,000 casualties every year due to DWI-related accidents. In 2010, 4 million U.S. adults reported driving after drinking alcohol at least once in their life. Furthermore, there were more than 1.4 million DWI arrests that same year, which yielded one of the highest arrest rates among major crimes.
First-Time Penalties for DWI
Even if you’re a first-time DWI offender, penalties are severe. Texas courts issue administrative and criminal penalties for a first offense because this crime leaves both you as well as others on the road at increased risk of danger. The penalties for a first offense DWI in Texas include, but are not limited to, the following:
- License suspension for up to 2 years
- Between 3 and 180 days in jail
- Up to $2,000 in fines, $10,000 if a minor is present.
- $2,000 fine annually for three years as part of DWI surcharge program.
The penalties of a DWI conviction are situation-specific, but any penalties at all could impact you for the rest of your professional and personal life. With the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney, you may have a better chance of having your charges lowered or even dismissed altogether.
Contact an Austin Criminal Defense Attorney For Help
If you or someone you know is facing a conviction for a first-time DWI offense in Texas, Ian Inglis Attorney at Law may be of invaluable help. With the help of a board certified criminal defense attorney, your future may not have to look so bleak, especially if you believe you were wrongfully charged. Contact Ian Inglis Attorney at Law today at (512) 472-1950.