Penalties for Boating While Intoxicated
When you are operating a boat on the water, you are held to the same standard as if you were driving a car on the open road. Therefore, under Texas law, you are prohibited from driving a boat while intoxicated. Just like driving a car, if your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher, you are considered intoxicated, and it is illegal for you to be operating a vessel.
3 BWI Penalties
A BWI carries penalties as significant as a DWI. According to Texas law, you can receive the following penalties for boating while intoxicated:
- First conviction results in a fine of up to $2,000 and/or up to 180 days in jail
- Second conviction results in up to a $4,000 fine and/or up to one year in jail
- Third conviction results in up to a $10,000 fine and/or 2-10 years in jail
Any conviction carries a substantial penalty. Fortunately, an experienced Austin criminal defense lawyer with Ian Inglis Attorney at Law can construct an appropriate defense strategy to help you avoid possible fines and/or jail time.
Contact an Austin Criminal Defense Attorney for Help
If you or someone you know has been accused of boating while intoxicated, make sure you have quality representation on your side. The experienced Austin criminal defense lawyers at Ian Inglis Attorney at Law have represented the interests of many charged with a BWI, and could help you seek dismissal, acquittal or deferred judgment of your case. Contact Ian Inglis Attorney at Law today at (512) 472-1950, so we can begin reviewing your case.